Beth Hart releases second video without audio for “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You”

Just months after releasing the first-ever “quiet” music video for “Black Dog,” which was released without audio for undisclosed legal reasons, the Grammy-nominated singer beth hart follows it with another official clip – this time for “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You”. And like with the release of “Black Dog,” fans have already started uploading their own versions of the video with audio included.

“I’m so proud of you, how smart you were to put the music on the ‘Black Dog’ video,” Hart said in a message to fans. “So the next one is also without audio and it’s ‘Baby, I’m going to leave you’.” Speaking about the inspiration for recording this version, Hart added: “This one is really based on my relationship with my dad – love and hate and abandonment and what love does to you.

Directed by Greg Watermann, the “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You” music video follows Hart’s latest album “A Tribute To Led Zeppelin,” which pays homage to one of the most formative musical influences of his career. As a child, Led Zeppelin’s sounds traveled from Hart’s neighbor’s house into his orbit. Her brother introduced her to the heavy rock of Zeppelin and Black Sabbath, and her major label debut came on Atlantic with the 1996 release of “Immortal” – the same label that introduced Led Zeppelin to the world in 1969.

At the helm during the recording of “A Tribute To Led Zeppelin” were super-producer Rob Cavallo (Green Day, Linkin Park, My Chemical Romance) and engineer Doug McKean (Goo Goo Dolls, Adam Lambert). A-list musicians include Cavallo on guitar with Tim Pierce (Bruce Springsteen, Tina Turner); on bass, Chris Chaney (Rob Zombie, Slash); on keyboards, Jamie Muhoberac (Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones); on drums was Dorian Crozier (Céline Dion, Miley Cyrus, Joe Cocker) and Matt Laug played drums on Stairway To Heaven (Alanis Morissette, Alice Cooper). The orchestral arrangements were by David Campbell (Muse, Beyoncé). Only the last piece of the puzzle remained… the voice.

Things fell into place when Cavallo was producing Hart’s previous album, “War In My Mind” (2019), and she did an impromptu version of “Whole Lotta Love” in the studio. Later, he asked to make an entire record. Beth said, “I’m not doing this whole album. To do Zeppelin, you have to be pissed off to do well. I can’t go; I’ve worked for years to quell my rage.”

She continues, “then the pandemic and everything around it hit. So now I’m pissed. I called my manager and said, have Rob and Doug send me all the music because I I’m ready to do it.”

If you were to go back, you could say that the story of a Led Zeppelin album started further; in May 2004, Hart prowled the stage at Paradiso in Amsterdam for an incendiary performance of “Whole Lotta Love”. The song has become a semi-regular part of his setlist over the years, including a memorable performance with Slash.

Earlier in Beth’s career, former VP of Led Zeppelin’s Swan Song label Alan Callan recommended Beth contact Jeff Beck about working together. Hart and Beck formed a beautiful friendship. Beck and Jimmy Page are also friends and, for a time, members of The Yardbirds. After Beck’s departure from the group, they would eventually become Led Zeppelin.

After her phenomenal performance at the 2012 Kennedy Center Honors for Buddy Guy, she received a standing ovation from Robert Plant, Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones.

Speaking of Zeppelin’s music and legacy, she says, “It’s so beautifully done, it’s timeless. It’ll last forever. Sometimes people come in, and they’re from another planet, and they make those works of art that will forever remain.”

Hart is recognized as one of the most talented voices of her generation. She has sold out tours worldwide, including performances at historic venues such as the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, the Royal Albert Hall in London and the Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam. She topped the Billboard Blues charts six times, went double platinum and had a string of Top 10 albums across Europe.

On a last thought, Beth stops and thinks to say, “This Zeppelin album allowed me to express all my rage, and for that, I’m really grateful to him.”

“A Tribute to Led Zeppelin” by Beth Hart
1. All the love
2. Cashmere
3. Stairway to Heaven
4. The nervous breakdown
5. Dancing Days / When The Levee Breaks (Medley)
6. Black Dog
7. No Quarter / Baby I’m Gonna Leave You (Medley)
8. Good times, bad times
9. The Rain Song

Comments are closed.