No pay for suspended parliamentarians – Demerara Waves Online News – Guyana

Updated on Thursday, July 28, 2022 at 2:25 p.m. by Denis Chabrol

The eight opposition parliamentarians, who were suspended for their alleged involvement in a violent rowdiness during a session of the National Assembly last December, will not receive salaries or allowances until their suspensions are over. .

With no dates set for the next sittings of the House, it is unclear how long they will have to wait for payments, as six of them have been suspended for four sittings and two for six sittings.

They had tried to block the debate and passage of the Natural Resources Fund legislation on December 29, 2021 on the grounds that there had been no consultation with the political opposition or civil society. The eight opposition parliamentarians chanted, waved placards and whistled. A number of them also carried the mace in front of the president and allegedly unplugged the audiovisual equipment.

In letters to a number of parliamentarians seen by Demerara Waves Online News, Clerk of the National Assembly Sherlock Isaacs informed them that “during the period of your suspension, you will not receive any salary or allowances and will not have entitled to some of the other benefits of a Member of the National Assembly.

Ganesh Mahipaul, a parliamentarian from the Partnership for National Unity + Alliance for Change (UNPA + AFC), rejected the non-payment of salaries, saying it was inconsistent with the previous suspensions of Sherod Duncan and Juan Edghill.

“I want to draw the conclusion that the Clerk of the National Assembly is interfering in the execution of his function and I think that there is heavy politics involved in the administration of the National Assembly,” he said. -he adds.

Based on the report of the Privileges Committee, Chief Opposition Whip Christopher Jones, Sherod Duncan, Natasha Singh-Lewis and Ganesh Mahipaul were suspended from four consecutive sittings for grossly disorderly conduct, absenteeism and disrespectful, and having repeatedly ignored the authority of the Assembly and that of the Speaker, and thus committing outrages and breaches of privilege on December 29, 2021.

Parliamentarians Annette Ferguson and Vinceroy Jordan were also suspended for six consecutive sittings for further committing serious gross and flagrant violations by removing the parliamentary mace from its rightful position without permission in a disorderly manner, causing damage to the mace, injuring and assaulting a member of staff. of the Bureau of Parliament, while trying to remove the Mace from the Chamber.

With the report having been adopted, Parliamentarian Tabitha Sarabo-Halley, according to the report, would be suspended for six consecutive sittings for entering the communications control room of the Arthur Chung Conference Center without authorization and destroying several audiovisual equipment, being property public.

The Clerk of the National Assembly also told them that because of the suspension, they are not allowed to attend National Assembly sittings or parliamentary committee meetings or enter the premises of the National Assembly or to attend any other activity of the Chamber” until the end of your suspension.

They were notified of their suspension pursuant to a government-sponsored resolution passed by a simple majority. Opposition parliamentarians APNU+AFC withdrew during the examination of the case. Unlike House Speaker Manzoor Nadir, they said the matter was before the court and should not have been considered by the National Assembly.

Mr Nadir said the case had simply been filed but had not gone through the various stages, including setting a date, and that there was enough evidence from live video and statements. parliamentary staff.

The case has now been set for a hearing on August 4, 2022 at 11:30 a.m.

Mr Mahipaul said efforts were underway to obtain an order or injunction preventing the clerk and the president from enforcing the stay until their case is heard.

Comments are closed.